Shining Star Award

It goes without saying that are extremely proud of our alums. One way that we recognize successful, generous communication graduates is through the Shining Star Award.

The Shining Star Award is given to a professional who has had an outstanding career in communication and also a record of service to the community. The award is presented in elegant fashion at events that have drawn more than 400 members of the La Salle community.

Some award winners include:

  • Peter Boyle, actor and Emmy Award-winner (notable roles included the loveable monster from Young Frankenstein and the grumpy father from Everybody Loves Raymond)
  • Sid MacLeod, professor and Communication Department legend (Namesake of the Sid MacLeod Endowed Fund)
  • Albert Vertino, Vice President and Executive Producer of Content, Turner Sports
  • Debra Fazio-Rutt, Vice President, Communications, for Spike TV
  • Karen Garman, Owner, Health Education, Leadership, and Performance Inc.
  • Mike Sielski, reporter, Wall Street Journal

The next Shining Start Award will be presented in the fall of 2013. Please contact us if you would like to make a nomination.