Search Committee


James V. Morris, Chair

Senior Vice President, SEI

Mr. Morris is responsible for Global Wealth Service Solutions at SEI, providing comprehensive wealth-processing and asset-management solutions to bank-owned wealth management organizations. A 1979 graduate of La Salle University with a bachelor’s degree in accounting and finance, Mr. Morris has been a member of the University’s Board of Trustees since 2009.



John M. Daly, M.D., FACS

Donohoo Professor of Surgery, Temple University School of Medicine, Temple University Hospital, and Fox Chase Cancer Center

Dr. Daly served as Dean of the Temple University School of Medicine from 2002 to 2011. He is an internationally renowned surgeon whose clinical work and research are in the fields of surgical oncology, metabolism, and nutrition. Dr. Daly graduated from La Salle with a bachelor’s degree in biology in 1969 and from Temple University School of Medicine in 1973, and he has been a La Salle Trustee since 2005.



Brother Dennis Malloy, F.S.C.

Visitor, District of Eastern North America of the Brothers of the Christian Schools

Br. Dennis previously served as Provincial for the Baltimore District of the Brothers of the Christian Schools from 2007 to 2009. Prior to that, he spent seven years as Executive Director of St. Gabriel’s System, which provides residential and community-based services to court-adjudicated youth. Br. Dennis graduated from La Salle with a bachelor’s degree in 1974 and with a master’s degree in 1983, and he has been a La Salle Trustee since 2007.


odonnellBrennan P. O’Donnell, Ph.D.

President, Manhattan College

Dr. O’Donnell became the 19th President of Manhattan College, one of six Lasallian colleges and universities in the United States, in 2009. Previously, he was Dean and Professor of English at Fordham College at Rose Hill, Fordham University, from 2004 to 2009. A graduate of Penn State University and the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, Dr. O’Donnell has been a La Salle Trustee since 2010.


markmann_william_jWilliam J. Markmann, M.D.

President, Orthopaedic Surgery & Rehabilitation Associates

Dr. Markmann is a practicing orthopaedic surgeon affiliated with Holy Redeemer Hospital and Jeanes Hospital. He is a recipient of the La Salle University Leadership Award. A 1970 graduate of La Salle with a bachelor’s degree in biology and a 1974 graduate of Temple University School of Medicine, Dr. Markmann has served on La Salle’s Board of Trustees since 2005.


spires_judyJudith A. Spires

CEO, Kings/Balducci’s Brands

Prior to joining Kings/Balducci’s Brands, a portfolio of gourmet and contemporary markets operating in the New York and Washington, D.C., areas, Ms. Spires was President of Acme Markets, a supermarket retail chain in Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware, and Maryland. A recipient of La Salle’s Leadership Award and a graduate of the University’s education and MBA programs, Ms. Spires has been a La Salle Trustee since 2006.


czekanski_kathyKathleen E. Czekanski, Ph.D., R.N., CNE

Associate Dean for Nursing Programs, School of Nursing and Health Sciences

Dr. Czekanski serves as Chief Nursing Administrator for La Salle’s nursing programs, and she previously served as Director of the Graduate Nursing and R.N.-to-BSN programs at La Salle. She earned her BSN at Villanova University, her MSN at The College of New Jersey, and her Ph.D. at Duquesne University. Dr. Czekanski teaches in the areas of nursing research, professional practice, ethics, and public health nursing.


price_williamWilliam A. Price, Ph.D.

Chair and Professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Dr. Price is a recipient of the Distinguished Lasallian Educator Award from both La Salle University and the District of Eastern North America of the Brothers of the Christian Schools. A graduate of the College of Wooster and the University of Maryland, College Park, Dr. Price’s areas of interest are organic synthesis, bioethics, and sustainability and climate change.


smither_jamesJames W. Smither, Ph.D.

Professor, Management and Leadership Department

Dr. Smither’s areas of expertise are leadership development, human resource management, and managerial decision making, and he has consulted with more than 50 firms in human resources and leadership development. A 1972 graduate of La Salle, Dr. Smither holds master’s degrees from Montclair State University and Seton Hall University and a Ph.D. from Stevens Institute of Technology.


Catalina Ta, Student

President, Students’ Government Association

Ms. Ta is a senior health studies major at La Salle and has been elected as the student body president for the 2013–14 academic year. Her other activities at La Salle have included serving as a host for the Day ONE freshman orientation program, as a freshman mentor in the New Explorers Program, and as the captain of the women’s rugby team. She also traveled to the Dominican Republic for a La Salle service trip in March 2013.


harper-briglia_bethBeth Harper Briglia, CPA

Vice President of Donor Services and Grantmaking, Chester County Community Foundation

Ms. Briglia serves as President of the La Salle University Alumni Association. A 1980 graduate of the University with a degree in political science and public administration, she has been active with the Alumni Board of Directors and the Chicago and Chester County alumni clubs, and she has been a trainer and consultant with the Nonprofit Center at the La Salle University School of Business.


giordano_nicholas_aNicholas A. Giordano

Retired President and CEO, Philadelphia Stock Exchange

Mr. Giordano served as Interim President of La Salle University from 1998 to 1999, the first lay colleague in La Salle history to hold presidential authority. During his tenure, he presided over the naming of the basketball court in the Hayman Center for Tom Gola and the inaugural President’s Cup golf tournament fundraiser. A 1965 graduate of La Salle with a degree in accounting, Mr. Giordano has been a consultant for financial service organizations, and he served on La Salle’s Board of Trustees for 25 years.


Ex officio

sautter_william_rWilliam R. Sautter, CPA

President and CEO, Elliott-Lewis Corp.

Mr. Sautter has led Elliott-Lewis, a Philadelphia-based heating, air conditioning, mechanical contracting, and facilities service company, since 1986. A 1971 La Salle graduate with a degree in accounting and a recipient of the University’s Leadership Award, he has served on the La Salle Board of Trustees since 2002.



scheye_thomas_eThomas E. Scheye, Ph.D.

Distinguished Service Professor, Loyola University Maryland

Dr. Scheye has spent 40 years at Loyola, including 20 years as Academic Vice-President and Provost and a term as interim president. Acting as a consultant for more than 15 years, he has worked with more than 70 clients, including public and private colleges and universities as well as nonprofit organizations, in strategic planning and institutional advancement as well as board development and presidential assessment. Dr. Scheye holds a bachelor’s degree from Georgetown University, a master’s degree from Yale University, and a Ph.D. from the University of Pennsylvania.

© Copyright 2014 La Salle University 1900 W. Olney Ave., Philadelphia, PA 19141