Accounting

Mission Statement

The mission of the Accounting Department--consistent with the missions of La Salle University and the School of Business--is to prepare students to become effective and socially responsible business and community leaders. Dedicated to the Christian Brothers’ traditions of excellence in teaching and concern for individual values of its students, the accounting faculty’s charge is to instill within our students an understanding of accounting as a profession with high ethical responsibilities.

Department Goals

  • Our graduates will understand the ethical and regulatory environment for accountants and the role accountants play in society to provide and ensure the integrity of financial, managerial and other information.
  • Our graduates will be able to apply the critical thinking and analytical skills that support professional skepticism, assessment, and assurance of accounting information.
  • Our graduates will develop communication skills that will allow them to effectively communicate financial and non- financial results.
  • Our graduates will be able to record, analyze, and interpret historical and prospective financial and non-financial information.
  • Our graduates will be able to use technology as appropriate to analyze financial and non-financial information.
  • Our graduates will demonstrate an understanding of tax policy, strategy and compliance.

Major(s) Offered

Accounting – B.S.B.A. (4 year)

Accounting – B.S.B.A./M.B.A. Dual Degree (4 year) 

Accounting – B.S.B.A. (4 year Non-Traditional/Evening)

Minor(s) Offered

Accounting

Location/Contact Information

Dr. Kristin Wentzel, Chairperson
wentzel@lasalle.edu
Founders’ Hall 378
215.951.5176

Dr. Susan Borkowski
borkowsk@lasalle.edu
Founders’ Hall 341
215.951.1491

Prof. Paul Brazina
brazina@lasalle.edu
Founders’ Hall 342
215.951.1623

Br. Gerald Fitzgerald
fitzgera@lasalle.edu
Founders’ Hall 377
215.951.1856

Dr. Sharon Hua
hua@lasalle.edu
Founders’ Hall 374
215.951.1498

Dr. C. Andrew Lafond
lafond@lasalle.edu
Founders’ Hall 379
215.951.1977

Dr. Bruce Leauby
leauby@lasalle.edu
Founders’ Hall 431
215.951.1490

Dr. Yusuf Ugras
ugras@lasalle.edu
Founders’ Hall 343
215.951.1240

Ms. Elizabeth Medina
medina@lasalle.edu
Administrative Assistant
Founders’ Hall 327
215.951.1008

Full-Time Faculty

PROFESSOR EMERITUS: Welsh, Zook

PROFESSORS: Borkowski

ASSOCIATE PROFESSORS: Lafond, Leauby, Ugras, Wentzel

ASSISTANT PROFESSORS: Brazina, Fitzgerald, Hua