Charter Dinner

The Charter Dinner celebrates La Salle’s founding on March 20, 1863, and pays tribute to the generations of Christian Brothers, laypeople, and clergy whose dedication have made La Salle University the prominent institution that it is today.

As La Salle University celebrates its 160th anniversary, proceeds from this year’s Charter Dinner will help us meet our $10 million goal for the Charter Challenge. This single-year fundraising initiative will help pave the way for current and future Explorers over the next 160 years. To date, the Charter Dinner has raised more than $5 million.

On March 11, 2023, La Salle will continue its Charter Dinner tradition and present both the Lasallian Leadership Award and the Lasallian Impact Award.  This year’s Lasallian Leadership Award recipient is E.F. (Bud) Hansen, III, ’90, MBA ’96, President, Hansen Properties, Inc, and the Lasallian Impact Award recipient is Business Leadership Organized for Catholic Schools (BLOCS). 

The University’s Lasallian Leadership Award recognizes an individual who displays outstanding leadership in the corporate, civic, governmental, or religious communities.

List of Previous Lasallian Leadership Award Recipients

2022 Jeffrey R. Boyle, ’88
2020 Reginald M. Browne, ’93
2019 Gregory Webster, ’81
2018 C. Raymond Larkin, ’70
2017 Donna Massanova, ’00
2016 Ed Fierko, ’63
2015 Philip W.J. Fisher, ’61
2014 J. Anthony Hayden, ’67
2013 The Christian Brothers
2012 Gaetano P. (Guy) Giordano, ’76
2011 Gerry Cuddy
2010 Bill Markmann, M.D., ’70
2009 Elmer F. “Bud” Hansen, Jr., ’58
2008 Judith Reyers Spires, ’75, MBA ’09
2007 Sharmain Matlock Turner
2006 Daniel K. Fitzpatrick, ’86
2005 William Sasso, Esq., ’69
2004 Leon Ellerson, ’56
2003 Daniel J. Whelan, ’68
2002 William Sautter, CPA ’71
2001 Michael J. Emmi
2000 Charles J. Reilly, ’62
1999 James J. Lynch, ’71
1998 J. Lawrence Wilson
1997 G. Fred DiBona Jr.
1996 Nicholas A. Giordano, ’65
1995 William J. Avery
1994 Joseph Paquette
1993 Nelson G. Harris

The Lasallian Impact Award recognizes an organiation that demonstrates the following criteria:

  • An organization who demonstrates respect of its employees, at all levels, and values diversity of thought.
  • An organization that nurtures mentoring relationships of its employees.
  • An organization who acts ethically and responsibly in all matters of business.
  • An organization who works collaboratively within itself and in the community.
  • An organization who is a leader in its industry and its community.
  • An organization that practices and is dedicated to sustained community service and civic engagement so as to contribute to the common good and dignity of others.
  • An organization who values education in the spirit of St. John Baptist de La Salle.

List of Previous Lasallian Impact Award Recipients

2020 Independence Blue Cross Foundation
2019 Holy Redeemer Health System
2018 The Patricia Kind Family Foundation
2017 IMC Construction

For information on sponsorship and event registration, please contact Trish Vastano, ’91 ( or call 215.951.1539.