Skip to Main Content

DLSI Presidential Teaching Awards

Presidential Teaching Awards are given annually to selected outstanding faculty members in the following two categories:
  1. One award to a full-time faculty member who has taught at La Salle University for less than 10 years at the time of nomination.
  2. One award to an adjunct faculty member who has taught at La Salle for at least five semesters at the time of nomination.
Award Criteria
Nominees for the DLSI Presidential Teaching Award must have a record of outstanding teaching effectiveness, including student advising and mentoring. A competitive candidate for the award will transcend the baseline of teaching effectiveness in one or more of the following ways:
  • Enthusiastic engagement with students, particularly interactions that inspire and stimulate student interest and nurture intellectual and professional growth both in and beyond the classroom.
  • Incorporation of key elements of Lasallian pedagogy, including developing student-centered instruction that provides for engagement with the Lasallian mission, educating the whole person, collaborating between and among disciplines and our diverse communities, championing social justice through engaged and experiential learning, and connecting classroom learning to contemporary real-world practice.
  • Use of innovative (new and/or original and evidence-based) pedagogical methods that are intellectually rigorous, creative, engaging, and accessible.
Full-Time Faculty Part-Time Faculty
2018 – C. Andrew Lafond 2018– Carol Kaminski
2019 – Elizabeth Langemak 2019 – Tonya Ellis
2020 – Deborah Byrne 2020 – Kathleen Bagnell Finnegan
2021- Caitlin Taylor 2021 – Reg Kim
2022 – Meghan Pierce 2022 – Jonathan Wilson