Class Notes

John C. McDevitt, ’57, has written the ninth installment in the beloved Alex Benedict science fiction mystery series, Village In the Sky, which is to be released in January 2023. 

Tony DePaul, ‘66, recently published his thriller novel Relentless Survivors. 

Thomas D. Scott II, ’73, was presented with the Housing Champion Award by the San Diego Housing Federation for his 20-plus years of leadership, innovation, and impact in the affordable housing field. 

Deborah Trent Walsh, ’73, and Raymond J. Walsh, ’73, celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary on June 5, 2021. They were married while students and spent their first two years of married life in campus housing on Wister Street.  

Tom Feeney, ’74, former president and CEO of Safelite and current Executive Chairman of Belron North America, has fully retired, effective June 30, 2022. 

Daniel F. Polsenberg Esq., ’79, was elected President of the American Academy of Appellate Lawyers. 

Neil S. Silverman, ‘80, M.D., joined the full-time faculty as Professor in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA, where he will serve as the director of the maternal-fetal medicine fellowship program. He also recently accepted positions as a member of editorial board for The American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology/MFM, and on ACOG’s Expert Work Group on Vaccinations and Emerging Infections. He is a co-author of ACOG’s most recent update to guidelines on perinatal prevention of neonatal group B streptococcal infections. 

Mark A. Turner, ’85, was named the 2022 Milestone Award winner by Delaware Business Times. 

Mary Wilby, Ph.D., BSN ’86, MSN ’90, MPH ’18, received The Special Recognition Award from The Alumni Association of the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania.   

Joel T. Lomurno, ’92, is the general manager of the minor-league hockey team the Wichita Thunder, of the ECHL. He was selected to the Wichita Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2022. 

Thomas J. Curry, ‘93, Ph.D., is President of Daniel J. Gross Catholic High School in Omaha, Neb., which is ranked the top private school in Omaha, by the Omaha World-Herald. 

John Paul Slavin, ’96, was appointed Cheltenham Township Chief of Police in Cheltenham, Pa. 

Gail Carter-Hamilton, ’98, RN, MSN, CSN, ‘09, was appointed the first Chief Racial Equity Officer for the Philadelphia Department of Public Health (PDPH) in January 2022. 

Anthony J. Biondo Jr., ’00, and his company, Biondo Creative, have been awarded Best Web Design Company in Bucks County, Pa., by Happenings Magazine 

Tom Namako, ’04, has been named Executive Editor of NBC News Digital.  

Kelly and Joseph Quintiliani Jr., ’09, welcomed their third child, Gabriel Nicholas Quintiliani, in February 2022. 

Rashon Maurice Howard, ’10, was inducted into the Prestigious Marquis Who’s Who Biographical Registry.  

Melissa Munro Boyd, M.A. ’06, Psy.D. ’10, authored Creating Calm in 5, 4, 3, 2, 1: Relaxation and Grounding Techniques for Kids. The book was published in August 2022. 

Patrice M. Turenne, M.A. ’11, labor and employment counsel for Bimbo Bakeries USA Inc., in Horsham, Pa., became the chair of the Pennsylvania Bar Association (PBA) Young Lawyers Division (YLD) at the conclusion of the association’s May 13, 2022, House of Delegates meeting in Hershey. 

Kevin William Christy, ’12, and his wife, Kerri, welcomed their first child, Jack, in January 2022.  

Stephen Solomon Jiwanmall, ’12, was promoted from Communications Manager to Director of Communications and Marketing at Bradbury-Sullivan LGBT Community Center in Allentown, Pa. 

Ashley McCarrie Naylor, ’13, married David Naylor, ’10, welcomed their first child, a baby girl, Nellie Marie, in February 2022. They were married in November 2019. 

Dan Kurish, ’13, joined the Washington Nationals of Major League Baseball as their Communications Director. He had a similar role with the Miami Marlins.   

Julie Anne Gutekunst, ’17, M.D., graduated from University of Maryland School of Medicine in 2021 and is completing her intern year at Temple University Hospital’s Internal Medicine Residency Program in Philadelphia.  

Bradford J. Morith, M.A. ’17, accepted a position as Historian with the U.S. Department of State’s Office of the Historian. He will join the team that creates the Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) volumes. 

Joseph Samuel Rogers, ’18, recently joined the staff of Pope John Paul II High School in Royersford, Pa., as Director of Academic Support. In this role, he advocates for, teaches, and mentors students with learning differences to improve accessibility in Catholic education. 

Annmarie Chavarria, DNP ’19, has been appointed to the Florida Center for Nursing Board of Directors. 

Jonathan Phillips, ’22, was commissioned into the United States Air Force as a second lieutenant.  

Want to list your achievements in La Salle Magazine? Visit to submit a Class Note.