Finance

Mission Statement

The mission of the Finance Department - in concert with the missions of the University and the School of Business - is to prepare students for a purposeful life by integrating Lasallian values with current financial management theory and practice. Through its curriculum and interactions with faculty and the external business community, the Finance major will provide students with an educational experience that emphasizes the sound fundamental financial concepts necessary for success in business and for preparing them to begin a meaningful career upon graduation.

Department Goals

  • To understand the nature of firm value and maximization of shareholder wealth
  • To understand basic financial securities, valuation models, and the trade-off between risk and return
  • To understand capital budgeting techniques and discounted cash flow 
  • To understand capital structure concepts and their effect on firm value
  • To understand how uncertainty and risk can be managed with forecasting and sensitivity analysis to improve decision

Major(s) Offered

Finance

Finance majors must complete requirements for one of the following tracks in Finance:

  • Investment and Financial Analysis
  • Risk Management
  • Managerial Finance

Minor(s) Offered

Finance Minor for Accounting Majors

Risk Management & Insurance Minor

Location/Contact Information

Finance Department

Founders' Hall 544

(215)951-1784

Staff Contact Information

Dr. Jan Ambrose, Chair
Founders'Hall 537
ambrose@lasalle.edu
(215)951-1332

Dr. Lester Barenbaum
Founders' Hall 540
barenbaum@lasalle.edu
(215)951-1649

Dr. Joshua Buch
Founders' Hall 535
buch@lasalle.edu
(215)951-1030

Dr. Walter Schubert
Founders' Hall 539
schubert@lasalle.edu
(215)951-1034

Dr. Elizabeth Cooper
Founders' Hall 536
coopere@lasalle.edu
(215)951-5138

Dr. Evgenii Radetskii
Founders' Hall 541
radetskiy@lasalle.edu
(215)951-1033

Professor Deborah Vesneski

Founders' Hall 542vesneski@lasalle.edu

vesneski@lasalle.edu

(215)991-3751

Sr. Betty McDonald
Administrative Assistant

bmcdonal@lasalle.edu
Founders’ Hall 533
(215)951-2033

Full-Time Faculty

PROFESSORS EMERITUS: Kane, McNichol

PROFESSORS: Ambrose, Barenbaum, Buch, Schubert

ASSOCIATE PROFESSORS: Cooper

ASSISTANT PROFESSORS: Radetskii